Tribute to Francisco-Javier Sayas

Tribute to Francisco-Javier Sayas

Minisymposium in memory of Francisco-Javier Sayas

Minisymposium in memory of Francisco-Javier Sayas

During the celebration of the congress CEDYA 2020, a minisymposium will be organized in memory of Francisco-Javier Sayas (1968-2019). The sessions of this minisymposium will gather many friends of his, as well as close students and colleagues, and will be devoted to share research results from the areas of Pancho's interests.

This minisymposium has been organized by Norbert Heuer (P. Universidad Católica de Chile) and Salim Meddahi (Universidad de Oviedo). It consists of six sessions with four 25-minute lectures each and the two plenary lectures by Bernardo Cockburn and Salim Meddahi.



Session 3. Monday 18:20 – 20:00. Room A2. Chair: Heuer, Norbert (P. Universidad Católica de Chile)



Contribution title

Rapún, María Luisa

Technical University of Madrid

Numerical methods for direct and inverse multiple scattering problems for mixed sound-soft, sound-hard and penetrable objects

Domínguez, Víctor

Public University of Navarre

deltaBEM: a rigorous theoretical analysis

Sánchez-Vizuet, Tonatiuh

New York University

Coupling BIE and HDG: an application to a free boundary problem from plasma physics.

Oyarzua, Ricardo

University of Bío-Bío

Error analysis of a dual-mixed formulation of the Navier-Stokes problem on Banach spaces



Session 4. Tuesday 11:30 – 13:00. Room A2. Chair: Rapún, María Luisa (Technical University of Madrid).



Contribution title

Costabel, Martin

University of Rennes

On the coercivity of space-time boundary integral equation

Maischak, Matthias

Brunel University London

High-order basis functions for Time Domain BEM

Nigam, Nilima

Simon Fraser University

Steklov eigenvalue problems

Gómez, Macarena

University of Sevilla

A posteriori error of partial differential equations of evolution by TR-BDF2 and Finite Elements Methods.


Session 5. Wednesday 11:30 – 12:10. Room A2. Chair: Domínguez, Víctor (Public University of Navarre)



Contribution title

Joly, Patrick

ENSTA ParisTech

Wave propagation in fractal trees: theory and numerics

Perugia, Ilaria

University of Vienna

Space-time discontinuous Galerkin methods for wave propagation

Lubich, Christian

University of Tübingen

Boundary elements and convolution quadrature for time-dependent scattering from generalized impedance boundary conditions

Rieder, Alexander

University of Vienna

A superconvergence phenomenon in Runge-Kutta convolution quadrature for the wave equation



Session 6. Thursday 11:30 – 13:10. Room A2. Chair: Sánchez-Vizuet, Tonatiuh (New York University)



Contribution title

Kanschat, Guido

Heidelberg University

Multigrid Preconditioners for Hybridizable Discontinuous Galerkin Methods

Gatica, Luis

University of Chile

Analysis of a pseudostress-based HDG method for the Oseen problem

Bustinza, Rommel

University of Concepción

A hybrid high-order method for an interior transmission problem with discontinuities

Sánchez, Manuel

Pontifical Catholic University of Chile

Symplectic Hybridizable Galerkin Methods


Session 7. Thursday 16:00 -17:40. Room A2. Chair: Oyarzua, Ricardo (University of Bío-Bío)



Contribution title

Solano, Manuel

University of Concepción

An HDG method for Maxwell’s equations in heterogeneous media

Selgas, Virginia

University of Oviedo

Steklov and modified transmission eigenvalues as target signatures in an inverse fluid-solid interaction problem

Turc, Catalin

New Jersey Institute of Technology

Planewave Density Interpolation Methods for electromagnetic simulations

Bruno, Oscar


Waves, scattering, eigenfunctions, and electromagnetic design


Session 9. Friday 11:30 – 13:10. Room A2. Chair: Meddahi, Salim (Universidad de Oviedo)



Contribution title

Banjai, Lehel

Heriot-Watt University

Time-Domain Boundary Integral Equations for Parabolic Problems and their Efficient Numerical Solution

Márquez, Antonio

University of Oviedo

Mixed finite element methods for the coupling of fluid flow with porous media flow

Heuer, Norbert

P. Universidad Católica de Chile

DPG for Reissner-Mindlin plates



  • Logo sema


  • Logo universidad de Oviedo epi
  • Logo universidad de Oviedo
  • Logo Gijón convention bureau
  • Logo Ayuntamiento de Gijón/Xixón